Something to Work With

I just finished a first draft for a novel.  I think I’m over the hump.

I’ve always found the work much faster once I have a completed draft.  I’ll slave and slave over something for months and months, dragging my feet through the process because I can’t see the light at the end of the tunnel.  But once a draft is completed, the entire story is out on the page in some form.  It’s much easier to see the immediate benefit of fixing crappy writing than to see the benefit of creating the crap in the first place.  This story was particularly hard.  I spent a lot of time sitting in front of the computer in my “writing zone” and doing nothing but thinking about how many problems I had to deal with in order to get my characters from point A to point B.

writers block

I had to pretty much force myself to just type something and anything.  I’m not particularly proud of the result, but I do have faith in the concept behind the novel.  I’m pretty sure I can turn it into something to be proud of.  The trick was just to get it out of my head first.  Now I just have to comb through the pages and pages of story, fix the awkwardness of the plot, solidify the dialogue, flesh out the thematic elements, adjust the pacing and revise the clunky text.

Piece of cake!

Leave a Reply

